The Lone Ranger

Sometimes lone walks are needed

 

The title might sound a bit depressing to some. But hear me out first. I’m not a loner and I definitely am not feeling depressed. It’s just that I cherish my time being alone. I don’t hate people for sure. I love my family and friends. But there times in life when you just wanna have that “me” time and forget about everything that’s going on in your life. Some may call it self reflect, I call it therapy.

I felt eager writing about this after talking about it with my cousin on the phone just now (we usually talk for hours just to catch up). Although I can’t fully grasp what she’s feeling right now cause she lives far away from home while I still live at home, tho I can relate to her in another sense.

I used to feel really sad when I had to eat lunch by myself, sitting by myself during breaks or just having no one to talk to during gatherings. When I first got into uni I was the girl who would just do whatever other people were doing, I had no ambition nor drive so I just went with it. I was always surrounded by people (the you can’t be alone kinda vibe/clingy). But then years went by and this happened, and that happened. First I was with this bunch then I was with the other bunch. You know the usual stuff. Until I’ve finally come to terms with myself. “You can’t please everyone” was what I told myself. But I was lucky enough to have met some pretty cool independent women along the way. I call em the lone rangers. I’m happy I got to know them during those crazy years in uni and it helped me grow as a person.

The  valuable things I can say I’ve learnt from them is that, never to let gender, age, how you dress or fear of being alone get in the way of what you want. And Sure, life is all about sharing. I believe in that. But in that moments that I spared for just me, I learned a lot about myself. I got in touch with my strength and my weaknesses. I started finding my own way and was no longer lost in the crowd.

Living life isn’t just about getting to know other people, it’s also about getting to know yourself.

Leave a Comment